PDA

View Full Version : modding risen questions

redparr
07-26-2011, 02:33 AM
does anyone know of a way to mod risen ive looked everywhere on google and havent found a thing can someone at least point me in the right direction

Insane JIC
07-26-2011, 04:05 AM
I remember seeing one...but my memory fails me atm.

Azrael
07-27-2011, 09:31 AM
Long time ago (like a year...) I got this game (the USA NTSC version) -wonderful game BTW-. Anyway, I checked the game and the savegames used at least one type of checksum. I could find all the offsets for the stats and gold (I remember they weren't fixed in one place, but they were very easy to find and most of them were 4 bytes long max). But I'm no expert on checksums, so I couldn't continue :sweatdrop:

The game is not hard and I completed it (100%) legit almost without any problem. If you need exp points, I remember there was some kind of cheat involving a pirate in the swamp that needed something (weed plants?, I can't remember...) and everytime you bring him like 10 or something, you gained exp points, but that pirate was immortal, so you could knock him down (he will not die), steal those things back while he was passed out, wait for him to recover and you could give him back those things for extra points... :-l

If anyone want to know, here is some of the notes I made while I was doing the research:

- Game ID: 4B4D07D8
- Extract "savegame.sav" from "Save0" (Autosave) o "Save#" (Manual Save #).
- Use OFFZIP with "savegame.sav"
offzip -s savegame.sav .\ 0 (to search for offsets with zipped contents).
offzip -a savegame.sav .\ 0 (to extract all zipped contents in the same folder as "savegame.sav").
- Edit "0000001c.dat" (that was usually the first content unzipped and I remember that almost all the time it had all the stats or gold -but not always-). If it didn't have them, I usually used the next file and so on...